Mintz Law Firm
Colorado Boating Accident Lawyers
Whether you are swimming or boating in the state of Colorado it's very important to be safe and smart while you're out on the water, because serious and disabling accidents can happen there. Our Colorado boating accident attorneys have researched some helpful tips that should help keep you safe while enhancing your boating experience. Water sports are a fabulous way to have fun during the summer time. But whether you're swimming or boating, it's important to follow the rules and be safe. The Colorado Boating Safety Program promotes safe vessel operation while enhancing boating experiences.
Before heading out on the water, be sure to:
Check your equipment
(U.S. Coast Guard-approved safety equipment is required on all recreational boats.)
Wear the proper life vest
The personal flotation device (PFD) is one of the most important items required on any boat. Boaters must carry one wearable PFD for each person on board. If the boat is more than 16 feet in length, an additional throwable device is required. As of July 1, 2003 children 12 years of age and younger are required to wear a PFD whenever their vessel is on the water, except when they are in an enclosed cabin or below deck.
Attend a Boating Safely in Colorado course
Anyone operating a motorboat, including a personal watercraft (PWC) or sailboat in Colorado must be at least 16 years old, through 14 and 15-year-olds who successfully complete a state approved boating safety course, such as the one offered by Colorado State Parks, can also operate a motorboat, jet ski or sailboat in Colorado. The course is offered throughout the state and is open to adults as well as teens.
Get a safety inspection on your vessel
You will also want to be sure your vessel complies with other equipment regulations, such as navigational lighting and appropriate water skiing flags. Courtesy safety inspections are frequently conducted at boat ramps and you may request an inspection at any time. Inspections help ensure that your time in the water is safe and enjoyable.
Review navigation techniques
Before heading out on Colorado's waters, be sure to learn or review the navigation rules for a safe and rewarding boating excursion. This Boat Safety Review Session is required for people 14 and 15 year olds to operate a boat in Colorado, but it is extremely valuable information regardless of age or experience level!