As of August 2023, Colorado has expanded a law regarding driver safety and protocol. The state’s “Move Over” law once required drivers to move over one traveling lane whenever possible and drive at least 20 miles per hour less than the posted speed limit for emergency vehicles, public utility service vehicles, and tow trucks. The updated Colorado law now requires drivers to reduce their speed and move over at least one lane for all stationary vehicles, especially if the car has its hazard lights on.
The change to this law is intended to increase and promote road safety, allowing drivers and passengers to remove themselves from potentially dangerous situations more easily. This law change also makes circumstances much safer for victims and survivors of car accidents, as they can avoid additional traffic after being hit in a collision. For more information about how this law applies to your circumstances within a car accident, retain legal support from a car accident lawyer at Mintz Law Firm at your earliest convenience.
What Is Colorado’s “Move Over” Law?
In short, Colorado’s “Move Over” law dictates that drivers need to create as much space as possible for vehicles stopped on the road. Currently, the law requires that all drivers slow to 20 miles per hour under the speed limit when a car is stopped with its hazards on. Additionally, drivers should move over one traveling lane if possible to increase space between the vehicles.
If you are visiting Colorado or are otherwise unfamiliar with the state’s driving laws, we strongly recommend you take some time to gain a greater understanding. Whenever you are in a car accident in Colorado, it is essential that you know your rights to determine who was ultimately responsible for any injuries. If you have been in a car accident and are unsure whether the “Move Over” law, or any other Colorado laws, apply to your case, feel free to contact Mintz Law Firm’s car accident attorneys for support and assistance.
What Are the Changes to Colorado’s “Move Over” Law?
Initially, the “Move Over” law only required drivers to increase space for specific vehicles. Drivers would still decrease their speed to at least 20 miles per hour under the speed limit and move over at least one traveling lane when possible. However, this law previously only required these additional measures for particular vehicles: emergency responders, tow trucks, and public utility service vehicles, whereas now it is applicable to all vehicles that are stopped.
How the “Move Over” Law Keeps Drivers Safe
The expanded law helps keep everyone on the road safe, putting more precise language to expected behavior in the case of an accident or other emergency. Adding space between a victim’s car prevents the likelihood that someone incapacitated or injured will suffer further damages. In many ways, the law may also clear an onlooker from holding liability, as there will be fewer points of contact when evidence is analyzed.
Hurt in a Colorado Car Accident? Call Mintz Law Firm for Help Protecting Your Rights
If you have been in a car accident—including one caused or exacerbated by an individual breaking the extended “Move Over” law—you don’t have to worry about facing financial burdens alone. By retaining a Colorado car accident attorney from Mintz Law Firm, you can receive valuable support during this challenging time. We have a track record of bringing our clients, including victims of car accidents, outstanding compensation.
Please contact us as soon as possible to schedule a free consultation with one of our talented and dedicated car accident lawyers. We can answer your questions during your free consultation and provide valuable support and information. You can reach us when you call (303) 462-2999 or fill out our contact form, whichever is easiest for you.