Riding a bicycle in the great state of Colorado is an attractive prospect for those wanting to get exercise and for anyone wanting to forego what many consider to be a normal traffic routine. Whether you’re taking a bike to work, using it to run errands, or experiencing our beautiful trails, you can bet that cycling will get you where you want to go.
When you’re out riding, there are a number of bicycle laws that you must adhere to for the safety of both yourself and others. Let’s take a look at a few of these laws that you might not know about.
You Must Signal When Stopping or Turning
Most cyclists are already aware that they must signal when stopping or turning, but you often see people ignoring this specific law. As you can imagine, failing to signal when riding can easily result in a collision since motorists may not be aware of what the cyclist is about to do on the roadway.
No More Than Two Side-by-Side
As a general rule, no more than two bikes can ride side-by-side at any given time. The two exceptions are on paths and parts of roadways that have been set aside exclusively for the use of bicycles.
You Can’t Attach Your Bike to a Motor Vehicle
We doubt anyone out there is going to attempt this one, but if it’s on the books, then you know it has probably happened on at least one occasion. The rule here is that you cannot attach your bike to a motor vehicle, such as by a rope, and then be pulled along by that motor vehicle. So, if you have any plans to emulate the look and feel of water skiing on two wheels, then you can forget it.
No More Persons Than the Bike Was Designed For
Each bicycle is designed for a specific number of persons and that is the maximum number that is allowed on a bicycle at one time. You’re not allowed to ride a single-person bike with a person piggybacking on you, and you definitely can’t have an infant strapped to your back. Common sense should tell you that these situations can lead to severe injuries.
Headlamps Are a Must
For the sake of safety of yourself, motorists, and pedestrians, your bicycle must be equipped with a headlamp that emits a white, visible light for a distance of at least 500 feet between the times of sunset and sunrise, in addition to any other time when there is insufficient light.
Red Reflectors Are Also a Must
Equipping your bike with a red reflector ensures that other people on the road behind you will be aware of your presence. The law requires that a rear, red reflector be installed on your bicycle that is visible for a minimum of 600 feet.
“Look, Ma… No Hands” Not Allowed
We understand that you are a master at riding your bicycle and that it has such precise controls and handling that you can periodically operate it without the use of hands throughout your trip. However, doing so is against the law. You must have at least one hand on the handlebars at all times.
Sirens and Whistles Cannot Be Installed
Here’s another law that you might think is rather silly, but we’re guessing that people have installed sirens or whistles on their bikes in order to alert others to possible danger or distress. Regardless of the reason, however, neither of these things are allowed to be installed on a bicycle.
Bicycle safety should always be a concern, and part of that is following all bicycle laws in the state of Colorado. If you have further questions or need assistance with an accident that has occurred, please contact the attorneys at Mintz Law Firm for a free consultation.